Bruce Hironaka, Director

Bruce Hironaka brings nearly 25 years of executive-level company-building, corporate development, operational, and strategic experience in the life science industry. Mr. Hironaka has served in executive roles with several start-up and early-stage life science companies including Aviron (acquired by MedImmune), Cell Genesys (acquired by BioSante), Thios Pharmaceuticals, and ImmuMetrix (acquired by CareDx). In addition, he has served as an executive advisor to several other life science companies. Mr. Hironaka was previously with McKinsey & Company. He received his J.D. and M.B.A. from Stanford University and his A.B. in Economics from the University of California, Berkeley.

Matt Ocko, Director

Matt Ocko, Co-founder and Co-Managing Partner of Data Collective (“DCVC”), has three decades of experience as a technology entrepreneur and venture capitalist, in the U.S. and globally, with multiple IPOs and Fortune 1000 M&A outcomes in his prior portfolio. He is an inventor on over 40 granted or in-process patents in areas as diverse as enterprise hardware and fraud detection. He holds a degree in Physics from Yale University and has been active in helping develop China’s venture capital and technology regulatory framework for two decades. His current investments include companies in areas ranging from computational drug discovery to synthetic biology platforms for industry and agriculture to next-generation diagnostic systems to epigenomic-capable DNA and RNA sequencing.

William M. Smith, J.D., M.P.A., Director

William Smith is the Executive Vice President for Legal Affairs and General Counsel for Fluidigm. In addition, he served on Fluidigm’s Board of Directors from 2000 to 2008. Prior to Fluidigm, he served as a Partner at the law firm of Townsend and Townsend and Crew, LLP, from 1985 through April 2008. Mr. Smith received a J.D. and an M.P.A. from the University of Southern California and a B.A. in Biology from UC San Diego.

Stephen Quake, Ph.D., Founder, Chair of the Scientific Advisory Board, Director

Stephen Quake, Ph.D., is the Lee Otterson Professor of Bioengineering and Applied Physics at Stanford University and Co-President of the Chan Zuckerberg Biohub, a new bioscience collaboration funded through a $600 million commitment by the Chan Zuckerberg Initiative. His interests lie at the nexus of physics, biology, and technology, where he has made numerous contributions to the fields of microfluidics, next-generation sequencing, and genomic analysis. He has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, the American Physical Society and the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering and is the recipient of numerous international awards, including the Human Frontiers of Science Nakasone Prize, the Lemelson-MIT Prize for Innovation, and the Raymond and Beverly Sackler International Prize in Biophysics. He has founded or co-founded several companies including Fluidigm, Helicos Biosciences, Verinata Health (acquired by Illumina), Quanticel Pharmaceuticals (acquired by Celgene), Moleculo (acquired by Illumina), Cellular Research (acquired by Becton Dickinson) and ImmuMetrix (acquired by CareDx). He holds a D.Phil. from the University of Oxford and a B.S. in Physics and a M.S. in Mathematics from Stanford University.

Dirk Thye, President and CEO, Director

Dirk Thye, M.D., brings approximately 20 years of drug development executive experience to Agenovir. Most recently, he served as Chief Medical Officer of Cidara, Inc., building and managing all aspects of drug development including the filing of several Investigational New Drug (“IND”) applications and advancement of two programs into Phase 2 clinical trials. In addition, he was instrumental in helping the company raise approximately $150 million over a one year period through multiple private financings and an initial public offering. Previously, he co-founded Cerexa and served as President for the last several years of his tenure, following the acquisition by Forest Laboratories. While at Cerexa, he led the development of ceftaroline (Teflaro®) from pre-IND to New Drug Application filing, FDA Advisory Committee and approval, and played a key role in the evaluation and acquisition of avibactam, a beta-lactamase inhibitor from Novexel, leading the joint development committee on behalf of Forest Laboratories in partnership with AstraZeneca. Avibactam in combination with ceftazidime (Avycaz®) was approved by the FDA in February 2015. Prior to Cerexa, Dr. Thye was a Founder and Senior Vice President of Clinical Development for Peninsula Pharmaceuticals (acquired by Johnson & Johnson in 2005), a company that developed doripenem (Doribax®) for severe bacterial infections in hospitalized patients. Dr. Thye has participated as a member of the board of directors or scientific advisory board member for several companies in the anti-infective area. He received his B.A. in Molecular Biology from UC Berkeley, his M.D. from UCLA, and completed his residency in Internal Medicine at Stanford University.